• 020 8858 3613
  • 020 8858 6516
In This Section
Early Years Foundation Stage
Nursery and Reception classes are known as the Foundation Stage and follow the Early Years Foundation Stage framework. The curriculum is organised into seven areas of learning and development, the first three of which are prime areas. The seven areas are:
  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Children enjoy finding out more about the world around them through a variety of practical and fun activities. Learning in the Foundation Stage takes place through a combination of whole class and small group sessions. Independent child-initiated learning is also an important part of every child’s day. Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think about problems, and to relate to others. Children learn by leading their own play, and by taking part in play which is guided by adults.

FS2 curriculum information